Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
RCW 9.41.050 requires you to have a concealed pistol license when:
For more information, please contact the Police Department at 360-293-4684.
Show All Answers
As of October 1, 2019, law enforcement agencies that issue concealed pistol licenses (CPLs) shall develop and implement a procedure for the renewal of CPLs through a mail application process for any person who as a member of the armed forces which includes the national guard and armed forces reserves, who are unable to renew their CPL in person because of assignment, reassignment, or deployment for out of state military services.
What is required of the applicant?
The person applying for a renewal CPL under these circumstances shall provide to the LEA:
A copy of their orders designating the specific period of assignment, reassignment, or deployment for out of state military service.
Apply for renewal within 90 days before or after the expiration date of the CPL; and
Pay the renewal licensing fee or the late renewal fee depending on the date of application
Pass a background check in order to receive the renewed CPL.
How long is the license good for?
The CPL renewed under these circumstances takes effect on the expiration date of the prior license and is valid for a period of one year.
What is the renewal fee:
The non-refundable renewal fees have not changed subsequent to the one year expiration. The fees are $32 for the renewal and $42 for the late renewal according to RCW 9.41.070.
How to proceed:
If you qualify for the above process, please fill out the Concealed Pistol License Application, print it out, and email the completed application and a copy of your orders to the Records Department at firstname.lastname@example.org. Alternatively, you can print and fax the application to (360) 293-1935. Once we have your completed paperwork, we will contact you regarding payment.
If you live within the city limits of Anacortes, you can apply in person at the Anacortes Police Department. If you live in the unincorporated area of the county, you must apply in person at the Sheriff's Office. Non-Washington residents may apply at any local law enforcement agency in Washington State.
Our address is:Anacortes Police Department1218 24th StreetAnacortes, WA 98221
Application hours for renewals and replacements are weekdays from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., excluding holidays. The application process takes about 30 minutes. Fingerprinting is on Wednesdays from 8 a.m. to Noon for original license applications. For more information, please contact the Police Department at 360-293-4684.
Yes. You will need to be fingerprinted and a criminal history background check will be conducted before your license is issued. Fingerprinting is only done Wednesdays from 8 a.m. to noon. For more information, please contact the Police Department at 360-293-4684.
Yes. The following requirements must be met:
If you are applying for your first concealed pistol license, it may take up to 30 days to complete the background check before the license is issued. If you do not have a Washington driver's license or identification card, it can take up to 60 days. For more information, please contact the Police Department at 360-293-4684.
You will need to bring:
Your concealed pistol license is valid for five years from the date your license is issued. You will not receive a renewal notice and it is your responsibility to ensure your license has not expired. For more information, please contact the Police Department at 360-293-4684.
If you live within the City of Anacortes, you may renew your concealed pistol license in person at the Anacortes Police Department, during the hours of 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays, excluding holidays. You may renew your license up to 90 days prior to the expiration date for a fee of $32, or up to 90 days after the expiration date for a late renewal fee of $42. You must provide picture identification and your current concealed pistol license. After 90 days, you will be required to apply for an original license with a fee of $49.25. For more information, please contact the Police Department at 360-293-4684.
If you live in the City of Anacortes, and your license has been lost, stolen, or destroyed, you may obtain a replacement license. You will need to apply in person at the Anacortes Police Department, during the hours of 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays, excluding holidays. The fee for a replacement license is $10. For more information, please contact the Police Department at 360-293-4684.
Washington has reciprocity or accepts concealed pistol licenses issued by a number of other states, so long as the handgun is carried in accordance with Washington law. The Washington State Attorney General's website provides a list of those states that have reciprocity with Washington for concealed pistol licenses. For more information, please contact the Police Department at 360-293-4684.