Library Board of Trustees

The Anacortes Public Library Board of Trustees are citizens who have a desire to serve the library and the community; time to devote to board responsibilities; and willingness to serve as advocates for library development. Trustees are appointed by the Mayor, confirmed by the City Council, and serve a five year term. 

Library Board of Trustees Responsibilities

  • Listens to the community needs and concern
  • Supports the library’s public relations program
  • Knows local and state laws regarding public libraries and keeps abreast of library trends and standards
  • Knows and abides by library board bylaws
  • Represents the library’s point of view at city council meetings and other public forums
  • Discusses and adopts library policies 
  • With the library director, reviews the annual library budget
  • Attends all regularly scheduled Board meetings and other special meetings as needed
  • Attends library functions as appropriate
  • Works with library director on community assessment & long range plans
  • Affiliates with state and national library organizations.


Currently serving on the Library Board: Alethea Fleming, Nancy Fisher-Allison, Courtney Orrock, Christina Hansen, and John Shafer. The Library Director is an ex-officio member of the Board and therefore has no vote on Board issues.  

Orrock, Courtney

Nancy Fisher-Allison photo

Fleming, Alethea

Christina Hansen

John Shafer

  1. Courtney Orrock
  2. Nancy Fisher-Allison
  3. Alethea Fleming
  4. Christina Hansen
  5. John Shafer

Originally from Texas, Courtney moved to the West Coast to attend Santa Clara University, where she graduated with a B.S. in Commerce. Following graduation, Courtney moved to Las Vegas for a position in corporate banking, where she then earned her MBA from University of Nevada, Las Vegas. While in Las Vegas, Courtney met her husband, Chad.  

Courtney & Chad first moved to Anacortes in 2004 where Courtney worked in her family’s business. After the sale of that business, Courtney became the Executive Director of the Island Hospital Foundation. In addition to working for IHF, Courtney served on the Anacortes Arts Commission and was a member of Anacortes Rotary. Chad’s work took them back to Las Vegas in 2011 where Courtney became the Executive Director of Sunrise Children’s Foundation (SCF), leading the organization through a complete restructure ensuring services to over 125,000 low-income children in Clark County. After completing that restructure, Courtney remained connected to SCF as a member of their Board of Directors and she took a position with Wyndham Consumer Finance as a Director and then Vice President of Finance. Courtney left Wyndham after the birth of her daughter and she and Chad moved back to Anacortes to raise their daughter in 2020. 

Regular Meetings

  • Meetings of the Anacortes Public Library Board of Trustees are open to the public. Your attendance and participation are welcome.  
  • Meetings take place the 2nd Monday of the month.  9:00 am in the Friends of the Library Meeting Room. 
  • If you would like to attend please contact Michelle Hanna, (360) 588-8329 (or by email), by the Friday prior to the meeting.  If you have a question for the Board that you would like formally addressed, please email your question by 4 p.m. on the Friday before the meeting. 
  • Email Michelle


  • 5 Members
  • 5-Year terms
  • City Resident (possible one County)
  • Limited to 2 full terms

Meeting Minutes

To view meeting minutes use the link below and click on "Library Board of Trustees"