Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is one of the most important groups in local government as they help set the long-term direction or vision for the community.

The Planning Commission assists in the initial development and amendment of the Comprehensive Plan, the development regulations, and other City plans through review, public hearings, community input, and make recommendations to the City Council. The Commission reviews certain development proposals for conformity with applicable plans, rules, and regulations. The Planning Commission also holds public hearings and make recommendations to City Council, or, for certain types of applications, make the final decision.

Serving on the Planning Commission is one of the most rewarding ways a resident can serve their community!

Authorizing Source and Overview

The Planning Commission was created by AMC 2.42 found here.

There will be seven members of the Planning Commission, to be appointed by the mayor, by and with the consent of the city council. The term length is six years.


Membership

Member Name Email Term Expires Seat Requirement
Amber Moffitt Amberm@cityofanacortes.org December 2019 General Public*
Geoffrey Mount  mountj@cityofanacortes.org December 2020 General Public*
Jeffrey Graf  jeffg@cityofanacortes.org

December 2023 General Public*
Ward R. MacKenzie  wardm@cityofanacortes.org December 2023 General Public*
Christine Cleland-McGrath  christinec@cityofanacortes.org December 2023 General Public*
Andrea Doll andread@cityofanacortes.org December 2024 General Public*
Jeremy McNett jeremym@cityofanacortes.org December 2024 General Public*
Click here to add content...

Regular Meetings

Meetings are held on the second and fourth Wednesday of every month at 6PM in the Anacortes City Hall Council Chambers (Address: 904 6th St, Anacortes, WA 98221).

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes. View Agendas and Minutes From 2015 and Older.

Contact Information

360-293-1901

Additional Information

For additional information please see the Planning Commission Calendar.